Busy times

Image

2014 has been busy so far. Two releases on hXe per month continues with the latest, Ascension through apathy by Kevin Sanders (which is me, so I’m kind of talking in the third person, which is always odd; At least with the ‘petals’ moniker, you can kind of justify it, but here, I’m not so sure). Also this month, alongside the ‘petals’ cassette on Beartown Records mentioned before, the Eyes in glass cassette, as ‘Kevin J Sanders’, comes out on KIKS / GFR 28/03/2014 (although I have two copies one copy no copies left with me now… get in touch via kevinjsanders@gmail.com if you’re interested in getting one from me).

I was gifted a guitar last weekend by my father-in-law. When he visited over Christmas, he seemed to enjoy, or rather he was able to at least hear some tonal inferences into some of the ukulele stuff I had been been doing towards the end of 2013. As such, he enquired whether I wanted a guitar. Of course I did. I’m 30 and have never had a guitar; How could I refuse? Rock ‘n’ roll superstardom, here we come…

So, having brought it back home last weekend, I plugged it it into ol’ Daphon RG-140 amp (the one with the random 3/4 minute recording function built in to it)… at this particular moment, it dawned on me that I had very little idea about how to use these guitar things.

“Do you sing at it to receive warm, harmonic melodies in response?” (That doesn’t work, or at least it hasn’t yet.)

Given the questionable success of using the guitar, I played the reed organ for a bit and hit some metal. I started rolling a few tape loops, then a dictaphone, and like a snake charmer to the snake, the guitar started to get brighter. It was a charming scene. Ethereal bliss swelled through the room. I could even hear the neighbours enthusiasm at the feedback. Marvellous stuff in the spare room. Magical stuff.

‘Stuff’, at least.

Captured forever through the virtue of the record button, here we have been left with a document of I, Kevin Sanders, using a guitar for the first time.

Ascension through apathy

Leave a Reply

